COVID-Related CME

Below are a series of educational videos, provided at no cost, covering some of the legal and operational issues involved with COVID-19.

Obesity and COVID-19 in the Outpatient Setting: What Clinicians Need to Know

This activity, “Obesity and COVID-19 in the Outpatient Setting: What Clinicians Need to Know,” will provide information that clinicians require to appropriately advise patients with obesity on how to avoid infection, monitor their patients with obesity who develop COVID-19, and recognize and manage complications as they occur to minimize morbidity and mortality. Some topics covered: 

  • Understanding the Pathophysiology of COVID-19 
  • Factors that Increase the Risks of COVID-19 for Patients with Obesity 
  • Developing Strategies to Manage Patients with Obesity during the COVID-19 Pandemic 

Course Type: Live Webinar 
Number of Credits: 1 Credit 
Type: CME/CE-Certified, MOC-Eligible Credit 

DATES AND TIMES (Register)
Wednesday, August 12, 2020 4:00 – 5:00 PM ET (3:00 – 4:00 PM CT / 1:00 – 2:00 PM PT) 
Tuesday, August 25, 2020 1:00 – 2:00 PM ET (12:00 Noon – 1:00 PM CT / 10:00 – 11:00 AM PT) 
Thursday, September 17, 2020 7:00 – 8:00 PM ET (6:00 – 7:00 PM CT / 4:00 – 5:00 PM PT)

 

Lung Cancer and COVID-19 in the Outpatient Setting: What Clinicians Need to Know

Patients with underlying health conditions such as lung cancer are at greater risk for infection or complications from COVID-19. Because of this increased risk, it is important that these patients are carefully managed, with telemedicine replacing in-person visits where possible. However, monitoring patients via telemedicine requires special attention, particularly because symptoms of COVID-19 infection are similar to common adverse events associated with lung cancer treatment.

This activity, “Lung Cancer and COVID-19 in the Outpatient Setting: What Clinicians Need to Know” will provide clinicians with the most up-to-date guidance on managing lung cancer during the current pandemic, including information on the pathophysiology of Sars-Cov-2, the risk of infection in patients with lung cancer, and strategies to manage patient care and counsel through telemedicine. Some topics covered:

  • The Pathophysiology of COVID-19
  • Patient and Disease Features that Increase Risk of COVID-19 Infection and Complications in Patients with Lung Cancer
  • Recommendations for Managing Patients with Lung Cancer in the COVID-19 Pandemic

Course Type: Live CME/CE Webinar
Number of Credits: 1 Credit
Credit Type: CME/CE-Certified, MOC-Eligible Credit

DATES AND TIMES (Register)
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 4:00 – 5:00 PM ET (8:00 – 9:00 PM GMT / 3:00 – 4:00 PM CT / 1:00 – 2:00 PM PT)
Tuesday, September 29, 2020 1:00 – 2:00 PM ET (5:00 – 6:00 PM GMT / 12:00 Noon – 1:00 PM CT / 10:00 – 11:00 AM PT)
Thursday, October 15, 2020  7:00 – 8:00 PM ET (11:00 PM – 12:00 AM GMT / 6:00 – 7:00 PM CT / 4:00 – 5:00 PM PT)

 

Telemedicine Liability Considerations

The COVID-19 pandemic has forced the sudden adoption of telemedicine by many practices and systems, accompanied by government and payer emergency measures that make providing virtual care easier. Given this rapid growth, it’s important to look at potential risks associated with telemedicine.

Link to Video
Download slides and other resources
Link to obtain CME*

 

*The Tennessee Medical Association is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians. Tennessee Medical Association designates each of these enduring activities for a maximum of 1 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit(s)™. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.