Dr. Elise Denneny of Knoxville Named TMA President-Elect

ENT Specialist will be Third Female President in Organization's History

March 2, 2018

Elise Cheng Denneny, MD, FACS, of Knoxville has been named President-elect for the Tennessee Medical Association, effective in May. Dr. Denneny is an otolaryngologist at Greater Knoxville Ear Nose & Throat in Powell.

When she takes office as the 2019-2020 TMA president, she will be the third female president in TMA history, following Drs. Phyllis Miller and Nita Shumaker.

TMA leadership elections took place Feb. 1-28.

Dr. Denneny is a current member of the TMA Board of Trustees and is an ex-officio board member of the Knoxville Academy of Medicine.

During the 2018 TMA leadership elections, physician members also elected peers to serve on the TMA Board of Trustees and the TMA Judicial Council.

Kirk Stone, MD of Union City and Rodney Lewis, MD of Nashville were re-elected to the Board. New members are James Wilson Cates, Jr., MD of Cookeville and Timothy S. Wilson, MD of Knoxville.

Three members were re-elected to the TMA Judicial Council: Justin Monroe, MD of Memphis; Omar Hamada, MD of Brentwood; and James C. Gray, MD, Cookeville. The new member is John W. Lacey, III, MD of Knoxville.

Formal installations for all new officers will take place during the annual meeting of TMA House of Delegates on Saturday, May 5 in Nashville. To learn more, go to tnmed.org/hod.