the REGIONAL Medical Society MODEL WORKED in 1895.
It works now.

Toward the end of the 19th century, physicians in the Upper Cumberland region of Tennessee formed one of the most active medical societies in the Southeastern U.S. After thriving for more than a century, it began to decline in recent years and was on the brink of collapse until a few determined doctors in Putnam County resurrected the model, secured a new charter from TMA and began revitalizing the Upper Cumberland Medical Society.

Now, doctors in communities throughout the 14-county region in the Upper Cumberland have a nearby resource for professional collegiality, growth and development, and a conduit to ensure Upper Cumberland physicians have a statewide voice in public health and legislative issues.

Explore the historical documents to learn more about the past, and get involved to influence the present and future of organized medicine in the Upper Cumberland.


The Upper Cumberland Medical Society is a component Society of the Tennessee Medical Association (UCMS-TMA). UCMS welcomes new members and supports personal leadership development of physicians from any of the 14 counties of Upper Cumberland: Cannon, Clay, Cumberland, DeKalb*, Fentress, Jackson, Macon, Overton, Pickett, Putnam, Smith*, Van Buren, Warren, and White.

*Physicians in these counties may choose to join UCMS-TMA in lieu of their county medical society on record.

Read about the new UCMS charter in the Cookeville Herald-Citizen, the daily newspaper of the Upper Cumberland.


Read about the formation of the UCMS in an article from the Journal of the Tennessee State Medical Association in 1933.

Read a detailed account of the rich heritage and physician leaders who played a role in the thriving UCMS throughout the 1900s in an article from a 1972 edition of the Journal of the Tennessee Medical Association.

Dr. Jim Batson, Cookeville pediatrician and active UCMS-TMA member, speaks to a television reporter during TMA's annual Day on the Hill in Nashville in 2017.


Doug Word
TMA Director of Regional Development