Skip to main content

The Tennessee Medical Education Fund Inc., is an independent, nonprofit 501 (c) 3 corporation, created by the Tennessee Medical Association in 1963 to provide scholarships to medical students in Tennessee medical schools, residents and physicians in medical school or practicing medicine in Tennessee and also supports other medical student and resident programs. 

The ability of the TMEF to provide over $5.9 million in financial assistance over the last 50 years has been largely due to the ongoing support of the Tennessee Medical Association through its leadership and the contributions of member physicians. More information on scholarships can be found at

View Scholarship Information

Download Scholarship Information PDF


  • University of Tennessee Health Science Center

  • Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

  • East Tennessee State University James H. Quillen College of Medicine

  • Meharry Medical College

  • LMU-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine

Donations to TMEF

TMEF accepts tax deductible gifts and donations. Please send general donations of support to the foundation and note with your donation if you wish for your gift to be designated to a specific program. 

Designation categories include:

  • TMEF general support

  • Medical Student Scholarships

Donations made by check or money order should be made out to TMEF and mailed to: 
Tennessee Medical Education Fund, Inc.
c/o: Beth Lentchner
701 Bradford Avenue
Nashville, TN 37204

All contributions and corporate gifts to the TMEF education fund are tax deductible. Tennessee Medical Education Fund, Inc. Tax ID: 62-6049920. 

EIN:  62-6049920
Organization Name:  Tennessee Medical Education Fund Inc.

The Tennessee Medical Education Fund, Inc., is an independent, nonprofit 501(c) 3 corporation, created by the Tennessee Medical Association to provide scholarships to medical students, residents and physicians.

Governance - TMEF Board of Directors
Maysoon Shocair Ali, MD, FACP, Secretary-Treasurer
Subhi Dawud Suboh Ali, MD, CEO
Neal Stanley Beckford, MD, Director (Board) 
Melanie Black Blake, MD, Director 
Robert Eugene Bowers, MD, Special Advisor
Dennis Alan Higdon, MD, Chair
John Jackson Ingram, III, MD, Director
Gary Keith Lovelady, MD, Vice Chair
Mitchell L. Mutter, MD, FACC Director
Sam Jones Williams, III, MD, Special Advisor